Skip to content Skip to navigation

Stanford scholars elected to American Philosophical Society

Head shot of Richard White
Aug 2 2016

Richard White has been elected to the American Philosophical Society. He joins four other History faculty that have been previously elected to the American Philosophical Society: Keith Baker, David Kennedy, Jack Rakove and James Sheehan.

The American Philosophical Society, founded by Benjamin Franklin for the purpose of “promoting useful knowledge,” has played an important role in American cultural and intellectual life since its establishment in 1743. Neurobiologist Eric Knudsen, the Edward C. and Amy H. Sewell Professor in the School of Medicine, Emeritus, also was among the 33 scholars worldwide elected to the society this year. ...

To read the complete article by Lisa Trei, visit the Dish, Stanford News.